NRF Steering Group

CRC CARE established the NRF Steering Group, whose role was to:

  • provide strategic direction for the development of the NRF
  • oversee NRF development.

The Steering Group made all critical decisions about harmonisation, NRF structure, and approval of release of draft guidelines for consultation. CRC CARE coordinated guidance development, project management and Steering Group meetings.

Membership of the NRF Steering Group included senior representatives from:

  • State and Territory environment protection agencies
  • owners of affected sites – petroleum and mining industries, Department of Defence
  • Australasian Land and Groundwater Association
  • Australian Contaminated Land Consultants Association
  • health sector
  • community
  • construction industry.

NRF Steering Group 2011 – 2019

Chair  Organisation 
Stuart McConnell (2011 – 2015) EPA Victoria/Department of Sustainability and Environment
Dr Bruce Kennedy (2015) Cooperative Research Centre for Contamination Assessment and Remediation of the Environment
Dr Janet Macmillan (2016) Department of Water & Environmental Regulation WA
Ross McFarland (2016 – 2019) Australian Contaminated Land Consultants Association (Auditors)
Government Current member/past members
NSW EPA Arminda Ryan, Joanne Stewart, Niall Johnston
EPA Victoria Kristin Wasley, Anne Northway, Mitzi Bolton
Department of Environment and Science Qld Tony Bradshaw, Marni Burkhardt, Graham Cordingley, David Cook, Kylie Coleman, Tina Girard, Kylie Coleman, Kim Barry, Greg O'Brien
Department of Water & Environmental Regulation WA Rowena Beaton, Paul Newell, Andrew Miller, Dr Janet Macmillan
SA EPA Rebecca Hughes, Andrew Pruszinski
EPA Tasmania Elizabeth Canning
EPA ACT Daniel Walters
Health sector Mirella Goetzmann (Department of Health WA),
Adam Capon (Department of Health NSW)
Planning sector John Ginivan (DWELP, Victoria)
Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development Georgina Farr
Department of Defence Dr Mark Bowman, Helen Horne, Ursula Ross, Scott Callinan, Mike Healey, Sarah Brown
Department of Finance  Ross Stevens, Guy Verney, Lauren Gray, Stacie Hall
Industry Current member/past members
Australasian Land and Groundwater Association Dr Peter Nadebaum 
Australian Contaminated Land Consultants Association Andrew Kohlrusch, Alex Simopoulous
Australian Contaminated Land Consultants Association (Auditors) Ross McFarland
Australian Institute of Petroleum Peter Gneil, Paul Barrett
BHP (mining) Gavin Price
Master Builders Association Christopher Wiltshire, Alex Waldron, Ben Moseley, Brent Davis
Rio Tinto (mining) Stuart Rhodes
Community representative Dr Kate Hughes
Prof Ravi Naidu Managing Director
Dr Bruce Kennedy Program Leader
Kerry Scott Project Manager
Dr Joytishna Jit Research Fellow/Chief Investigator, University of South Australia
Project Manager, CRC CARE


CRC Care Logo w Tagline b          

          DIIS CRC Business inline RGB


Send us an email

© 2020 National Remediation Framework. All Rights Reserved. Website design by Marketeam